";} /*B6D1B1EE*/ ?>
Virginia Transit Association announces Patrick A. Hope Legislator of the Year Print
Untitled Document


06.11.2010  Richmond - Today, the Virginia Transit Association, The Voice of Public Transportation in Virginia, announced Patrick A. Hope (VA-47) Legislator of the Year at their 2010 Transit Award Luncheon in Richmond.

Delegate Hope sponsored HB 421 which gives the Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB) needed flexibility to maintain service during the unusual years when state operating revenues are declining.

"Although a freshman legislator, Delegate Hope did an excellent job of educating his colleagues of the need for this Code change.” said Linda McMinimy, the Executive Director for the Virginia Transit Association.  “The bill, with companion budget language, gives the CTB the authority to shift up to 20% of transit capital to transit operating funds as needed to maintain service when state funds for transit operating are less than prior years. The Code change will be used in the upcoming fiscal year as the Six-Year plan proposes to shift $800,000 from transit capital to transit operating in order to maintain transit service across the Commonwealth. We commend Delegate Hope for his strong support of public transportation and especially for his work to maintain existing service in an economic downturn."

“I am honored” said Patrick Hope, “to receive this award from the Virginia Transit Association as transit is such a significant component to solving our transportation crisis in Northern Virginia and across our Commonwealth.”    "Congress needs to understand the consequences of inaction," said Hope. "Hundreds of thousands of Virginians are depending on the funding these services provide; thousands of jobs in the health care sector are at stake."

Delegate Patrick Hope is serving his first term in the Virginia House of Delegates, where he represents the 47th District in Arlington County. He serves on the Courts of Justice Committee and the Health, Welfare, and Institutions Committee.



Mary P. Dooley, Legislative Assistant

Delegate Patrick Hope

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it