";} /*B6D1B1EE*/ ?>
Hope Receives “Legislator of the Year” Honor from Virginia Academy of Family Physicians Print
Untitled Document

08.06.2010 Arlington - Today, Delegate Patrick A. Hope was named Legislator of the Year from the Virginia Academy of Family Physicians.

Dr. Jan Ragland, President of the Virginia Academy of Family Physicians - a statewide specialty physician association with over 2500 members said, "we chose Delegate Hope as the VAFP Legislator of the Year because of his tireless work on primary care issues including HJ82 which will study the concept of the patient centered medical home.  Delegate Hope has a solid grasp of the complex policy issues surrounding primary care in Virginia and he is clearly a skilled legislator based on his outstanding work.   This combined with the fact that the 2010 General Assembly session was Delegate Hope's first session leads us to believe that he will be a tireless advocate for health care issues in the Commonwealth.  Because of all of this, we are honored to have Delegate Hope be the 2010 VAFP Legislator of the Year."

In accepting the award, Del. Patrick Hope stated, "I am deeply honored to be recognized by Virginia's family physicians.  Our family physicians are on the front lines providing primary and preventive care services to millions of Virginians and their families.  And with the passage of health care reform, we need our family physicians now more than ever to continue delivering high quality, preventive care services.

Hope added, “Our family physicians and other primary care providers are the keystone to coordinated, integrated and better managed care.  I’m committed to changing the way health care is delivered in Virginia and to, once and for all, recognize primary care for the tremendous value they provide to patients.”

Patrick A. Hope is a freshman Democrat representing the central part of Arlington County in the Virginia House of Delegates.  Del. Hope serves on the Courts of Justice Committee and the Health Welfare, and Institutions Committee.  He also serves as Co-chair of the House Freshmen Caucus.


Media Contact:

Mary P. Dooley  703-486-1010