";} /*B6D1B1EE*/ ?>
SunGazette: Hope Honored as Transit Legislator of the Year Print
Untitled Document

By  SCOTT McCAFFREY, Staff Writer

© Created: Saturday, June 12, 2010 6:38 AM EDT

The Virginia Transit Association has named freshman Del. Patrick Hope (D-47th) its legislator of the year.

Hope was honored for successfully patroning a bill that gives the Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB) flexibility in maintaining service during difficult economic times.

“Although a freshman legislator, Del. Hope did an excellent job of educating his colleagues of the need for this Code change,” said Linda McMinimy, executive director of the transit association.

The bill, with companion budget language, gives the CTB the authority to shift up to 20 percent of transit capital to transit operating funds as needed to maintain service when state funds for transit operating are less than prior years.

In the coming fiscal year, that will result in a shift of $800,000 from capital projects to operating funds in order to maintain service across Virginia.

“I am honored to receive this award,” Hope said. “Transit is such a significant component to solving our transportation crisis in Northern Virginia and across our commonwealth.”